Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries

2005-09-19 - 10:59 a.m.

As I had the weekend off, I visited some dear dear friends in Worcester. (Wusta - if you live there) We toiled for hours in the garden, well, I basically just cut blocks of stone in half all day with a carbide tipped blade on a nice circular saw. Masses of white concrete dust covering everything around me, except my beer obviously, learnt that trick early on. My friend, a guy who had run like 20 miles in the morning, did all the real toiling, barrows filled with stones and mulch ALL DAY. Ive never seen anyone sweat like that man. Eew.











S T E A K.


DAY 6

So saturday, after a day of labouring in the garden, we went out and got two London Broils. We made boiled potatoes and a delicious blue cheese salad. I insisted on cooking the steak absolutely free of all but a smattering of salt. They have a great grill and I got it real hot, smacked the steaks on and DID NOT TOUCH THEM for 4 minutes. Turned them over and DID NOT TOUCH THEM for 4 minutes. Turned them over, making sure the burnt grill lines would criss cross beautifully and DID NOT TOUCH THEM for 4 minutes, guess what I did then!!!!. After that, and only after that, did I turn the grill down a bit and shut the top. let it heat up to 500 and DID NOT TOUCH THEM for 8 minutes. Medium Rare to perfection. Depending on the thickness. these where .75 of an inch. 3/4". Over an inch and theyll need 12 minutes. Always the same amount of searing. just extend the baking time. for desired bloodyness.


DAY 7

I got back to the Hotel and Floyd couldnt give me a king size bed. He pleasantly told me that if I could wait a bit, Id get one. Hmm, lets see, what can I do for an hour? Oh yeah..... RIBS.
So, nothing much open on a Sunday in walking distance except.. JOES. Again.

Had good service and excelllent ribs and went over the edge of my stomach capacity just ever so slightly with the New England Clam Chowder. For anyone unfamiliar with this dish. It is a creamy white thick soup with potatoe and (Durr) Clams. It is utterly wonderous and - in my opinion - shits all over Manhattan Clam Chowder. Manhattan Clam Chowder is a tomatoe based version. watery, acidic, kills the clam flavor. really.

Had a couple of Boddingtons

Now hear this. **An Flirtatious Aside**

I am a good boy. I worship my Delicious and everything she entails.. (Entails, not entrails. Eew) Ive been on the recieving end of cheating backstabbing bitches my whole life and have no time for that type of crap. I preface this little aside with this knowldege because it is day 8 of my steak binging sabatical and the hole in my very being from not having Delicious near me has grown, it envelopes my every thought. I miss her so. Like a flame to a candle she ignites me. Like butter on hot toast she completes me, Like fuel in a car, like garlic in Bologniase, like slow cooked ribs, Medium Rare Filet Mign.... sorry.

Plus I am about to divulge a scenario that would leave a weaker man in big trouble.

This morning, as I entered the coffee shop in my solitude, my confinement, my desert, This awful detachment, emptiness, this forced isolation, my private and desperate loneliness, my quarantine, such a reclusive state, a retirement, seclusion, separateness, a dusty shelf in an empty display case, a cold and heartless silence, a withdrawal.... I was greeted by a young woman, dare I say it, girl, who was clearly and unashamedly flirtatious.

Blushed I did at her blatant smiling, winking, head tilting and general body movements. A courtship dance that I think David Attenborough would have difficulty describing. The Crocodile Hunter moron, whom I detest utterly, would say "Crikey, have a look at that little beauty!"

It was very gratifying and almost left me not needing a coffee! What took this beyond flirt and made it blatant was this. This young lady, lets call her "Little-Miss-might-as-well-be-wearing-my-thong-on-my-face", managed to turn around and bend over in front of me no more than 8 times while making my caramel latte with skim milk. Like I said, I am a good boy, but I have to admit to having to pick my eyeballs up off the floor. Actually, I think one of the elder waitresses may have picked them up for me. It amazed me that "Little-Miss-might-as-well-be-wearing-my-thong-on-my-face" was not told by anyone she worked alongside about just how ridiculous her underwear showing was. I love to see a little slice of a thong, its alluring and sexy, but I tell ya, the actual T section was so far removed from being anywhere near the top of her pants it bordered on ridiculous and almost entered painful. I cannot decide if the other staff didn't tell her cos it was so funny and eased customers minds to the bad service or because she was well aware of what she was doing and proud of it. Probably the latter. Kids today, I don't know.

*

*

Wane - Wax

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!