Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries

2005-09-20 - 10:49 a.m.

"You save the best for last"


Day - 8



Last night I went, on the recommendation of many, to The Hilltop Steakhouse. This place has been an icon for america for years and it is no wonder. Remeber cowboys and steers and injuns and shit. This place was like walking into a saloon. Admittedly an oversized banquet hall of a saloon, but a saloon none the less.

The place setting in this restaurant is an image of a massive 1000 pound Bull. It has quaint little dashed lines all over it depicting the various cuts, where they are, and even the crappy bits they use for mince meat, the tongue, the "sweet breads" (thats bollocks to me and testicles to others) Everything edible.

Apparently, on a 1000 pound bull, just under 500 pounds is consumable!! AWESOME!!!

I had tears in my eyes just staring at it and the menu. My mouth salivating like a dogs in preperation for what was to come.

I ordered the fillet mignon. A. because it was 15 ounces. Definately the biggest I have ever seen, and B. because its 15 ounces.

As soon as my waiter returned with my 22 ounce beer, I saw it. On the next table a guy ordered the BEEF RIBS. 24 ounces of a side of a cow. I nearly died. Then I took solace in the size of the man eating it and resigned myself to having done the right thing.

Then I caved and ordered it as well to take home for tomorrow.


he he


The biggest mistake I made was not bringing my camera. The parking lot for this place was bigger than a whole shopping center and, on a Monday night, was deserted. The sign for this restaurant is MASSIVE and utterly cool. A complete embodyment of exactly what the restaurant stands for. Neon lights ran the length of the cactus as well as the sign and the illumination across the parking lot was eery and cool. twas a warm night too. I reflected about my meal as I stared up at it for a few minutes before hopping back in the car to the hotel.

What a great night.


If you are EVER in Boston. No matter WHAT YOU DO, go to The Hilltop Steakhouse. Oh, unless your a vegetarian, you guys can "gaarn get fucked" (except my Delicious obviously)

I hope this event has been as fun for you reading as its been for me experiencing.

Now its back to reality.

p


*

*

Wane - Wax

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!