Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries

2004-03-01 - 8:28 a.m.

To try and simply sum up what went on this weekend in a paragraph or two is literally impossible.

We moved house you see.

not very far but yet a world away from the irritating hell hole apartment we were stuck in for 3 years. We now are burstingly proud "OWNERS" of a teensy weensy three bedroom colonial house (pictures soon to come on the site, somewhere, when I find my computer amongst the boxes) Did I say "OWNERS", I meant "OWNERS". Anyway.

We had so much help this weekend that we managed to achieve the impossible, the whole downstairs is "livable" thanks to the painting party we had as all our friends volunteered to do EVERYTHING!!

The move only took about 8 hours too! three trips in a truck. and a few car loads. I got up stupidly early and loaded the truck with all the little boxes and stuff with my Bro John. Legend John, J diggedy. Never, in the field of human conflict, has anyone I know, except maybe my father, worked as hard, for little old me. Well maybe that thing my mother did when I was coming out of her rates up there but... you get the picture. Twice now he's been a work horse that dwarfs all others. We had people painting and stripping and spackling and sanding all over the place. Evil dervishes in a whirlwind of activity. Washing clothes and sheets and pillows ( Never knew you could wash a pillow - three tennis balls in the dryer?!?!?!) Cleaning, mopping, moving. I don't think this old 108 year old house has ever seen so much action.

It has not been updated since the previous owner moved in (she lived there since 1944!!) WAIT, before you start saying "WOAH, what about the electrics and...." They DID update the gas, electric and hot water about 8 years ago so our only issues are seriously cosmetic. SERIOUSLY, COSMETIC. Mind you, after all the painting that went on, you cant even see those things anymore, you know old window frames out of shape, that sort of thing. Our old oven is amazing, it works perfectly (knocks on lead paint covered wood) and is HUGE. It must be 4 foot wide!

Anyway, I could go on for hours, our little house is so much FUN, but life goes on. Im at work, thinking about being there and moving all our boxes into the proper rooms before unboxing them and blah blah blah.

the most important thing is to set up the lounge room, set up the DINING ROOM!!! (We have a dining room, I have been eating off of a coffee table for almost 8 years) and finish off the kitchen, then we can entertain and I can start thinking about the office, the music studio/guest room and the art studio/basement/laundry.

I guess if anyone that helped us out reads this THANKS THANKS THANKS THANKS!!!!!!!

p

Achy breaky P

*

*

Wane - Wax

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!