Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries

2005-10-20 - 8:48 a.m.

Been very busy, you know, smashing my shin into guard rails, hiking up Colorado Rocky Mountains to 12,000ft, moving my friggin studio back down into the friggin basement AGAIN.



Thats Delicious. The day panned out thus:
7am we got out of our warm beds and dressed for a "Hike" We arrived at the base of the mountain and where going to turn round as there was snow at the base, unnusual for October! but we soldiered on. Cranked the Toyota into 4wd and meandered up the dirt/snow packed track. Made it to the top most carpark, were three other vehicles stood. The owners of said vehicles where gearing up for the trek, snow poles, full winter dress etc. We alight, shorts, sneakers - totally unprepared for snow, and start walking up the trail to see how far we could go. We got about 2 miles in, which was about 2 miles from the summit. Now, given that I have already supplied you with 1000 words worth of what we were looking at and surrrouded by (the Photo above) I need not wax too much about how utterly breathtaking it was - and that is by no means a jab on the altitude and our bodies innability to recieve the right amount of oxygen at 12,000ft.

The most soul cleansing moment for me was when I turned to our motley crew of friends and motioned at them to STOP TALKING AND STAND STILL so I could injest the aural wonder of looking out at a valley that is problably twice that of Manhattan and yet utterly, utterly silent. We where shielded from the wind at that moment and nothing can describe the silence. I felt every noise and irritation seap out of me in search of some sound but there was nothing. It lasted about 20 seconds as an unfortunate side effect of being American is the need to be involved in a conversation almost without reprieve.

Amazing.

I shall endevour to post some pictures of the Garden of the Gods, a curiously named bunch of molten rock weathered into existance by crumbling sand all around it.

Simply amazing.


well, reality is certainly back after a wonderful trip. I have the hiking bug though.

Seriously.

p

*

*

Wane - Wax

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!