Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries

2005-01-10 - 6:35 p.m.

Ugh. I am really hungry but I just can't go and spend money on food. Not when there are musical instruments to buy.

Still clawing at the gnarled and rocky outcropping of musical recording happiness.

Yes it's all very well to say "I manage with Garage band" and "Surely a 1.8ghrz will do?" and " you don't need Pro tools" and all that, but when it comes to having to cut, paste, fade, apply pitch/volume/pan/eq changes, create VCO information on a step graph to emphasize intricate velocity changes to filters for out of this world effects etc, compress, limit, reverb? over 20 odd tracks of audio? forget it.

I simply have to have these abilities. I grew up using these abilities. They ARE my tools.

I started recording music like 15 friggin years ago and I have remained in the realm of just supplying myself with tunes and the odd friend, it is mainly a totally selfish hobby that may or may not ever present me with a means or any sort of salary? I could care less, the immense pleasure I get from writing music is too good to give up. I still listen to my stuff regularly, with great joy! thing is though, if I use my "want" to learn something professional, (plug for Pro tools) maybe there might be room for a career as a Pro tools "operator" Just like Tank, only not overly muscular and definately not a genuine child of Zion. Oh, and not sporting some pretty nasty scars from that whole "Sypher is a rat " thing.

Told you this would become boring. It is not going to stop either as the only way to get it sorted out properly is to continually riffle through the useless and confusing information that goes into buying a computer and a sound card and some sequencing software that all match each other and talk nicely.

p

I still think that
G5 dual 1.8ghrz with 2 gigs ram
Digi 002 outboard rack (Pro Tools sound card)
Pro tools LE 6.7
TC Electronics Powercore Compact (external effects processing)

is the way forward.

just over 5 thousand of these weird American Dollars.


Maybe then I can start sounding like Frou Frou ("Let Go" - the ultimate in soundscaping luxury) but still be the Groovespook you understand.

p

"You should always quote me in your updates" Moses Sackowitz 01.10.05

*

*

Wane - Wax

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!