Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries

2004-04-15 - 7:16 a.m.

My brother, he is visiting with his Dearest, has not left Australia since he was 14. Living in a city of 340,000 set on 34 miles of beach, 15 years there and you get to know it pretty well. You also do not get to know anything else. Never have I seen such a wonderous childish glee at the enormity of NYC than on his face. Picture a 35 year old man with his face glued to the bus window, mouth open, eyes bulging at the size and breadth of it all. He is still in shock from seeing the Pyramids in Mexico (a three day stop over before coming here)

Such a great thing to see. I can't tell you just how happy I am to be seeing him and to show him such a diverse and different world. And the BEERS!!!!!! I haven't even taken him to the Blind Tiger yet?!? GULP (literally)

I am expecting this weekend to be a bit of a mad dash. I have family over on Saturday for Paella (if you pronounce it pie-ella you will be punched) no mean feat for an aussie cooking it for Portuguese people?! I'm not scared. much. Then Sunday promises to be ENORMOUS. I have many people coming over from work, home, friends, my Delicious even has some friends and work mates coming too. I am hoping there will be enough people that I can just stand in front of the grill ALL DAY and do wonders to huge slabs of quivering flesh. (sorry vege's) I wont even go into the turkey. it is going to be a lovely day too. AND I think I have several musically minded acoustic guitar totting individuals that I can randomly place throughout the afternoon for porch entertainment. ( I better hide my hand drums, some people just don't realise what utter damage they can do with complete lack of timing - I really am a freak when it comes to that. But then, so are most guitarists who are trying to get along with that RACKET. My Delicious is convinced that rhythm pulses through her very blood - as it does mine. Such a sad and deluded state she is in. I thought I might get counseling for her but she is so blindly and happily and totally completely unnaware of her missgivings I have not the heart to tell her that when her hands hit the skin...

A. they have NOTHING whatsoever to do with any rhythm that may be in her head

B. the rhythm in her head has nothing whatsoever to do with the rhythm that is being performed. And

C. Even if there is no rythm, her beats do not even coincide with her own verbal cues.

It pains me to see her hands flailing in the air above my drums. PAIN. BLOOD CURDLING ANGUISH. NERVE SHATTERING MISERY. BRAIN EXPLODING AGONY. DISCOMFORT, AFFLICTION, CRAMP, CRICK, LACERATION, PAROXYSM, SORENESS, GRIPE, TORMENT, TORTURE, SPASM. (oh, there goes my sense of moderation again)

Make no mistake we make beautiful music together, just as long as it has nothing at all to do with any musical instruments. (Inserts Austin Powers "YEAH BABY" here)

I wonder if I get any stragglers from the street on Sunday? hope so. meet the neighbors. YAY

I wonder if I get a chance to put my rope light up?

I wonder if I say I wonder again?

POPCORN SHRIMP

PIG IN BLANKET

ASSORTED HORSES DOOVERS

BOLHINOS DE BACALHO

CHEESE BOARD

PICKLES/OLIVES

SPINACH DIP

STEAK

HOT DOGS

STEAK

TURKEY

STEAK

SAUSAGES

SALAD

STEAK

POTATO SALAD

INDIAN CABBAGE MESS

CAULIFOWER CHEESE

STEAK

DESSERTS

...STEAK?

*

*

Wane - Wax

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!