Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries

2005-09-13 - 9:14 a.m.




DAY 2

Officially this was day 1 but the Outback Steakhouse on Sunday night sort of re-arranged me. As long as I still stay on this "time zone" it means when I get to Day 5 it will really be Day 4 so that way I get a Day 6 as a complete bonus. yep, yep, yep!

Anyway, enough MALARCKY.

Joe's.

Sounds dull but is quite a fancy place, heavily wooden paneled, models of wooden yachts, sort of a gentleman's cigar room atmosphere, eledgedly "fine dining"

HMMMM.

Well, the hostess led me to my table, fairly non-chalont but nothing to complain about (DOH!, too late) My waitress appeared behind an all too familiar "please-be-nice-to-me-I-don't-speak-much-English" type of smile, Spanish I think - But more like "recently-from-Spain" Spanish as apposed to "born in Newark" Spanish. I ordered a full rack of ribs, home cut fries and OH THE JOY... a Boddingtons!

The ribs, drizzled with a thick sugary BBQ sauce where falling off the bone. I simply extracted the bones painlessly with my fingers, lick them dry and deposited them in the supplied plate. More on plates later. After that I poured on the extra side dish of sugary BBQ sauce, mixed it all up and SCOFFED IT RIGHT DOWN SHARPISH!!!

It was delightful. I followed it up with (suprise) another OH THE JOY... Boddingtons and a dessert of a Jaggermeister with orange juice (don't knock it till you try it - and try Jaggermeister straight first, then you will understand)

After my Dessert, when Spanish came back (rare glimpses of her during the evening, slightly more rare than I would have liked (this translates to CRAP SERVICE) I thought, at the time, that it was not out of my jurisDICKtion to eloquently mention the fact that, although all the plates I had on my table where bleached white and shiny, the plate that ever so brilliantly held my ribs in front of me, was not fit for guests. My words where "Do you think you could ask your manager if he feels this plate is fit for guests, I am in no means concerned as the meal was delicious - compliments to the Chef - but this plate is pretty scratched up" Insert previously mentioned Spanish smile with tinge of complete and utter confusion and fear.

What can you do, 11 years of experience with the finest quality 5 star service for what? FOR WHAT??????

Anyway, went to the bar and had another Jaggermeister and juice and an OH THE JOY... Boddingtons. Ignored bored football watching men and walked back to the Hotel. WALKING DISTANCE.

I may go there again in the hopes I get a better plate, and more importantly... the Fillet Mignon.

he
he


Slept like a baby.

*

*

Wane - Wax

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!