Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries

2004-07-29 - 10:40 a.m.

I don't know why I was reminded of the story that my father told me of his mischeviousness as a youth but......

When he was a likely lad, back in the day when the Everly Brothers were "kickin it big time" and The Police were not yet The Police and were loosing band contests to my dads band "The Dictators" (another story) the wonderful church my father was a choirboy at, St, Chritophers I believe, had a record player (turntable) It was in the steeple and played the bells through a loudspeaker system. Convincing everyone that the bell tole crew from Winchester Cathedral where up there tugging away (ahem?)

Only a few priveledged parishioners knew this evil secret and unfortunately daddy was one of them. So one saturday evening, just before Sunday mass, my beloved father figure decides to replace the descending bell tones that signify "get to church you lowly peasants and sit through a 45 minute sermon" with "Rock Around The Clock" by Bill Hally and the Comets. Can you imagine!!!!!!

What a legend.

I'd never do anything like that.

p

*

*

Wane - Wax

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!