Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries

2004-07-27 - 11:31 a.m.

I am hoping that I do not get too interrupted in the next 40 minutes in order to accurately convey last nights shinnaniggans ( I think its OK to spell that how you want depending on your current double letter preference)

So, I was DREADING coming home to paint, on the train I sweated, in the car I shook and as I walked up to our love nest, I saw lights on upstairs, from the front it looked as though Delicious would be up there, painting something. To my delight as I reached the top of the stairs, she was deeply engrossed in that lovely titanium laptop of hers that I dont think ever gets onto her lap. (it would have to fight it out with my head for the rights to do that anyway) Relief exited my every limb like an inflated balloon untied. I rejoiced by climbing down into my basement and getting myself ridiculously stoned.

3 interesting things happen to me when I do that...

1. I am filled with an elation and simple joy that instantly relaxes and calms me.

2. I get really creative.

3. I have this tendancy to focus on things that go wrong in a pronounced, Rowan Atkinson styled narrative that I am going to record one day. I amuse myself so much with this rhetoric that it bellies the creative juices spent, most of the time. Anyway.

( AAAAARGH, I keep bloody getting bloody inter bloody ruptions bloody, I hate it when they bloody want me to bloody work, these BLOODY BASTARDS)

So I turn my g4 on and I have three tests to do to see if it started up right. It's an old machine now, tired and worn like a 25yr veteran carpet layer. The first test is to see if the USB bullshit is working. A simple test conducted by pressing "apple+n" If an untitled folder appears mysteriously on my desktop then I can go to test 2. Opening my musical suite of applications. Cubase 32 and Reason followed by the wave pro 824 soundcard interface. Test 3 is to hit my (piano) keyboard (the Korg o1w with broken screen and English power adaptor) If I see midi meters lighting up on the cubase interface then YIPPEE!!!! test 3 is complete. The last test (SHIT, there's 4 tests) is a scary one as I dont usually get to actually recording audio till half way through the tune process and the effect generated by something being "not right within" is this recurring digital feedback squelchyness that has the ability to both deafen me and ruin my Tannoys. It happened rather violently last night at one stage and I swear Kramer has nothing on my reaction to that.

So after 4 restarts for one or all of the above reasons I get into my tune that I started last night. For reasons that are only really known to people of a much higher intellect than me, my computer has adjusted the tempo of the tune by 25 bpi. so it's now noticeably faster. That doesn't bother me much, I actually opted to leave it a bit more foot tappery, the thing that bothers me is that my previously recorded vocals are now sung by versions of me after ingesting helium. A usefull effect to be sure but not for this sombre tune. BAH HUMBUG.

So I re-record the vocals, I ditch the 3 part harmony throughout as "apparently" one voice is better than 4 when it comes to my singing. and continue to twitch things here and there and get another 2 minutes of tune out of it. I have enough room for another verse now and I'm excited about that as I do love to wax lyrical. The ability I am nurturing to write thoughtful yet aloof and yet still complicated and inward lyrics is very rewarding.

All this was between a total of 7 restarts.

still. I think I shall finish it tonight and post it all in one go! so tomorrow, look for a link

it's called "Ruled by this Force"

Id be interested to hear, if there is anyone out there listening, what the low down is on my vocal mixing. I have a feeling it's WAY too hot but I never get it right.

I am slowly getting closer to sending this stuff to R, hes a professional you know!. he always plays with nobs. He said he would remix my stuff but I have to get it into a form thats siutable for him to frig with, which means loads of pissing about with files and seperating out drums and sounds and shit.

p

*

*

Wane - Wax

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!