Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries

2004-05-04 - 8:31 a.m.

I have to tell you about the most gratifying experience I have had with our home so far. It may seem insignificant to the renter, passe to the flat mate, non chalont to the border, but to me, home owner extraordinare, It was a fantastic moment. My only regret is that the visuals that accompanied this experience have been lost forever in the anals of my THC ruined memory.

Picture a dreary Sunday morning, rain pitter patters (as it does) lightly over everything as a follow up to a good few hours of heavy rain. The wet has "penetrated" everything outside. I make a coffee and walk out onto my porch for a brisk sip of caffiene and a greeting of the day. I see one of my many upcoming projects in full effect. Water is cascading elegantly down the corner of my house from all areas of the gutter but the down-pipe. I see a single tear of water drip sadly from the base of the pipe an decide there and then to see just what steps I need to take to rectify this misery.

So far most of my projects have been sign posts for bigger and more irritating projects (you may remember the light fitting in the dining room?) so I was prepared to see a mass of painful and expensive operations before me.

What I saw was an enormous congregation of wires placed cunningly to stop leaves and other debris from going down the drain pipe. (I pronounce the s in debris - it sounds funnier) This wire has been secretly culturing its own special brand of black fungusy goo for what seems like maybe 8 years. At first sight, I thought it may be too far gone and then it happened. I lifted the wire out of its snug little hole and in that instant, galons of water from all reaches of the roof, sucked by enormous amounts of gravity, plumeted down the drain in a torential monsoon of fresh rain water, exploding out of the drain and into the street below. I stood on my ladder awe struck by this wonderous activity until the very last drop of water was gone.

I then casually shook the black goo out of the wire (it fell out with less effort than pressing the return key on my mac) stuck it back in the hole (oooh er) and retreated back to the porch and the relative safety of my coffee.

It seems that one out of every 6 projects seems to be like that.

I was so happy.

I still am so happy.

No words can conjour my elation for this house, my Delicious and the life Im living.

thanks.

p

*

*

Wane - Wax

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!