Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries

2004-03-23 - 7:50 a.m.

I was thinking this morning just how incredibly misserable I was when I dropped my telescopic pen down a drain hole. On a sunny sunday afternoon when my father was playing cricket for the county, back when I was 8 or something. I was so utterly distraught, my grandfather had given me this cool car antenna with a pen in it and I was weilding it with utter glee all day long. I poked it into a man hole cover and OH!, there it went. I remember clearly hearing it hit the watery bottom 200,000 ft below me.

Funny how material objects hold so dear to me. Probably sad to most, but fun to me. All that "You leave with what you came with" bollocks just pisses me off. I love all these things that dedicated individuals produce and invent for one such as I to play with and utilise.

IPOD? Funnily enough (and that is such a crazy word-funnily. Funnily-funnily-funnily) I was listening to Rennaissance - Abiza from Deep Dish? I think, today. Yes it's a little housy, actually it doesnt really get much more housy than that but once you get into the groove, it's as smooth as silk. So many people really dont give Techno/Dance music a go. they hear the same thing three times and go " OH HOW BLOODY REPETATIVE IS THIS SHIT, PLEASE, SOMEBODY GIVE ME A BUCKET SO I CAN EXPEL MY OWN STOMACH IN ONE FOUL HEAVING REACH JUST LIKE A SHARK DOES" Well, just let me tell you.. DOUBTING THOMAS'S that is not strictly the case.

Dance music has been specifically created to hypmotise your unconcious into hearing more finite and delicate sounds through clever and downright wicked subliminal education. Listen to the beat, fall into its pulsing rythm and then let it go, concentrate on the melody, the bass line and the awesome power of the wishy washy ethereal stuff. The constant slow changes, the pulsating algorythms from sound waves that perpetuate themselves through delays and filters, always changing. You will note that as a piece progresses, it rises, elements fly in from nowhere, tickling your senses and lifting you. What begins as monotony to the casual listener weaves and interacts with the beat with subtlty and grace. Clever break downs that almost make you lose the beat just before kicking you back into it like diving into a beautiful pool. The filtering of these particular Synthetic sounds has massaging qualities to your inner most brain activity. Assuming that you have kick ass fidelity that is. Mind you, that might be me being a hippie. WOOPS.

Of course, make no mistake, some of it IS complete CRAP too.

So, for activities in the above...

---REACTIVATE

(compilations, they are all GREAT number 9 is a classic, 11, 13 etc etc)

--- DEEP DISH

(compilations/mixes)

--- BEDROCK BEATS

(this gets a bit more "Break Beaty" but it still KICKS! - I prefer this stuff really)

--- BERLIN LOUNGE/PARIS LOUNGE (smoother, chilled out but still dancy. great compilation 2 cd sets)

--- MINISTRY OF SOUND. (Nuff said!)

My poor Delicious painted and painted and painted in my shoulderitic absence last night. I did praise her efforts though as I sipped delicately on my Boddingtons (for medicinal reasons)

p

*

*

Wane - Wax

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!