Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries

2004-02-18 - 8:02 a.m.

I have decided to randomly place memories here at my whim. I had a nice one today as I was watching the freezing dawn sky illuminate New York city from the industrial side of the Meadowlands in New Jersey. And no, there are no meadows. It is a massive expanse of swampland with the occasional factory and huge sports arena. The story goes that they flooded the area with seawater years ago when it was Meadowlands. WOOPS!

Reverie No.2

An old rustic "Queenslander" colonial. It's a house on stilts, very ornate. Only this one is decrepid and overun by tropical forest. I find all too often my memories of youth are from this time. The lush forest is an amazing vision. vivid greens dotted with brightly colored insects and flowers. A distinct fresh, wet smell. It would rain in Queensland at 4pm every day without fail and then clear up totally by 5pm.

The house is being refitted by my father and I am lucky enough to be off school and accompanying him for the day. I smell the unmistakable odour of old and new wood, sawdust, grout and concrete. I run through the house and down the back steps, the house is on a block of land that has a massive inlcine. street level at the front of the house and an almost 20 feet drop below the house by the time you reach the back door. The stilts hold the house level and to a boy, defy human engineering.

I spent most of my time under the old house looking for spiders, somethign I probably would shy away from these days knowing just how lethal those spiders are.

(http://www.brisbaneprestigetours.com.au/Images/half%20bne%20queenslander.jpg)

Great, now I return from my misty memory to stare at one of the work keyboards that is used by many people. it's filthy. I simply MUST clean it.

ho hum.

p.s. we still have not closed on the house, this is day 2 in the red.

p

*

*

Wane - Wax

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!